images in my Luminar catalog are no longer linked. Even though I have the hard drive folder the images are on plugged in. The folders and images are marked with "!" and I only see a low-resolution preview. I previously saw edit filters, but they were grayed out. Now I cannot see them either.
I opened Luminar to work with an image I created about a week ago (haven't used Luminar since), and the 3 folders I had imported had the ! symbol and said they could not be found. I had the external hard drive plugged in that the images were on. So I chose Locate Folder for two of the folders that couldn't be found and navigated to where it was. That worked in that it then 'found' all of the images, but all of the favorites, ratings and color coding that I had done was lost.
Now I am afraid to 'Locate Folder' for the one remaining folder that has images that I have edited in case L3 loses all of the editing information. I have had too many images already that L3 lost the editing data for. There seems that once I choose to Locate Folder there is no going back to try again (I have my photos backed up on 2 different external drives in case one fails).
I have tried to hold Option while opening L3 and choosing to Restore from Backup to get a backup on the day that I created the edits, but instead of showing all of the folders as missing (like when I opened L3 just earlier) the 2 folders that I had 'Located' are showing as okay. So even the backup from 8 days ago has been updated with something I only did today in the catalog (not in that backup from 8 days ago). That does not seem right... if I'm restoring from a backup of 8 days ago, the state of those folders should be exactly the same as when I first opened Luminar tonight. But it's not. That worries me. These changes that I made today (Locate Folder), are being saved back into a backup from 8 days ago. The implications of that behavior could be disastrous... meaning there is no going back if something bad happens and you try to restore.
I can't see a way to show the entire path that L3 is looking for these folders/images so that I know I have the correct drive when I choose Locate Folder. I can't see a way to duplicate the catalog so I can have a trial run for choosing the other external HD and see if that preserves my editing data or not. When I choose Locate Folder there is no undoing it to try the other external drive.
I find this catalog system to be very fragile, confusing to use, and it's very, very easy to lose all your work with no way to undo. I have already had so many hours of work completely lost by L3. I was assured that changes were being made to the catalog so that would not happen again. Well it's happened in a different way this time, but it's still happened again.
I really want to love Luminar 3. I really want to use it. But it has already cost me so much time and frustration. Previous edits that were lost could not be restored even though I followed all of the instructions support sent to me. I even uploaded my entire catalog at their request through WeTransfer and got a message from WeTransfer a few days before the link was expiring that it had not been downloaded. It took something like 7 hours to upload, during which time I could not use my computer for anything else, and they didn't even both to download it. I sent an email to them about it and they had 'forgotten' and then told me that they probably couldn't recover anything from it anyway. I don't know if they downloaded it in the end.
Please sign in to leave a comment.