I find the image delete design to be somewhat confusing/convoluted. I get the '3-step' approach, but it feels 'heavy-handed' and potentially leading to user confusion/bad UX.
There are several places an image can be 'deleted' - e.g. app menu, right-click context-menu, current action photo bar. The term 'trash', 'empty trash' is an overloaded term - is it the 'Luminar Trash'? underlying 'OS trash'? etc...
Having to 'move' rejected images to a 'master' folder before I can remove them from the LR3 'catalog' is an unnecessary workflow step. I shouldn't have to (physically) move files around to have them excluded from just the LR3 catalog.
I hate to say this but I think Lightroom has the better design. It is simple and straight-forward. Images don't have to be moved first before being 'removed' from the catalog. There is no 'Lightroom trash' -or- 'System trash' concept.
I'd really like if LR3 would reconsider this design aspect and make it as simple as:
1) Select images (from any view/folder/sub-folder), single or multiple, etc...
2) Select to...
- Remove from Catalog Only - were file/folders are not moved/deleted from HD, simply removed from being part of the LR3 ecosphere - i.e. editing workflow/LR3 catalog. I should be able to add them back (re-import) at a later date if I so chose.
Delete from System (akin to current Delete Forever behavior), possibly a configurable option to:
- Move to Trash - moves file/folder to underlying OS Trash
- Delete Permanently - files are physically deleted from HD
Based on above selected config option, have all appropriate menu items/confirmation dialogs tell the user exactly what will happen - files will be Moved to Trash or Delete Permanently
Thanks for taking this under consideration.
Please sign in to leave a comment.