Luminar 3 Unusable

Comments

127 comments

  • Avatar
    Peter Halter

    Same Problem: Opening Luminar 3 takes a lot of time (>50 sec), browsing through the catalog is slow

    >53.000 Pics
    Program and catalog/Cache stored on SSD
    AMD Ryzen 7 / 3.8 GHz; 16 GB RAM; Geforce 1060;  3840x2160 on a 32" Display; Win 10 


     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Angela Andrieux

    Hi Peter,

    We're aware of the performance issues, and we're truly sorry if you encountered them.

    We will release an update meant to target these issues at the end of January - beginning of February.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Denis Kotsee

    @tim roach 

    1. Did the thumbnails go black immediately after you added a folder to your library?
    2. Are all the thumbnails black?
    3. What is the camera model that the images that display black were shot on?
    4. Did you move the images to another location on your drive or in Luminar?
    5. If the thumbnails didn't go black immediately after you added a folder to your library, can you remember what preceded the issue? Did you apply any edits to any of the images? If yes, what edits did you apply?

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    tim roach

    Now here is some other weird things that are happening. 

    #1: When I try to save a preset to use on  other photos that has multiple layers nothing but the top layer is saving.

    #2:If I copy a settings from a photo to use on another photo everything copies over INCLUDING the file name of the photo I copied from! So what happens is after the paste is applied and I go to save the new photo to jpg it now has the filename of the photo the copied settings came from instead of the photo I pasted them to.

    #3: When I am working on a photo and move on to another photo in the same library then go back to the photo I was working on Luminar sometimes will keep all the develope settings greyed out and never switch the photos along the bottom[default view mode} to the photo I just went back to.

    all 3 of these happen on both my PC and MAC versions

     

    .... just a start for now. I am sure I can have more later.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    tim roach

    In reply to your previous question, all this occurs on a fresh library, no deleting or changing of anything. Just trying manuver around in the library to pic different photos to edit causes those problems. The black thumbnails was usually after an edit. The 2 camera brands I use are Sony and Nikon.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Leila Evans

    @tim roach - We are aware of these issues, but could you please answer the questions (1-5) my colleague asked you previously? 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    tim roach

    @tim roach 

    1. Did the thumbnails go black immediately after you added a folder to your library? um no, they usually went black after I started clicking on either the library window or switching to the edit tab and back again.     But FYI this problem seems to have been cured with this latest update 301 [2751]
    2. Are all the thumbnails black? see above
    3. What is the camera model that the images that display black were shot on? I only have Sony and Nikon but it would happen with any library folder. Even jpgs
    4. Did you move the images to another location on your drive or in Luminar? nope
    5. If the thumbnails didn't go black immediately after you added a folder to your library, can you remember what preceded the issue? Did you apply any edits to any of the images? If yes, what edits did you apply? Sometimes, Usually it happened after I started to switch between edit and library windows. Sometimes not changing anything then sometimes after an edit.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

     

    I am running a 2011 imac with 8g ram and 500g ssd the drives I was reading the raw images from was external usb.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anna V

    Hi Tim, thank you for your cooperation, we have forwarded all the info to our technical department.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Steve Mekler

    My Luminar 3 doesn't load in Windows 10.  It seems to be running the hard drive with no end and the opening page remains frozen on the screen showing a bunch of frozen images.  Why in the world would Skylum put a Windows version that doesn't work??????????? This is just unbelievable.  I would rather have kept waiting for something usable.  Are you guys for real, or is this just a sad joke to irritate consumers?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Denis Kotsee
    1. Did Luminar launch before or are you having issues on the first launch?
    2. If this is not the first time you're launching Luminar, have you successfully completed the initial setup (a series of windows where you create a catalog and add a folder with photos)? Were there any issues during the process?
    3. If you have successfully added a folder with photos to Luminar: what is the location your folder is at, and how large it is (how many files / how much space does it take up on your HDD)?
    4. Were you able to successfully work on photos in Luminar before?
    5. What was the last thing you can remember that you did in Luminar before encountering the issue?
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Paul Harding

    Each opening of Luminar 3 on an up to date iMac with 16 gig of RAM sees a 'spinning wheel' as the program struggles to load. On my second computer it was worse and never able to transfer Photos Library into Luminar 3? Never had this problem with Aperture.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Angela Andrieux

    Hi Paul,

    Please reach out to our support team at www.skylum.com/support and we'll be happy to investigate.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Stefan Andel

    Installed new Luminar 3 on Windows 10. First start: "Reading File Structure" - seems to me, that will read forever ... As I see, this is very common problem with this software. Why your developers do nothing with this problem? But, my mistake I bought Luminar, especially after trying Aurora from the same company. Performance of Aurora was also very pure ... I switched to Photomatics, no problem with that software. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anastasia Davis

    Hi Stefan! I am sorry for the inconveniences. It seems that something hinders Luminar to read a file structure of catalog. Could you try removing your catalog?

    On Windows:

    1. Make sure Luminar is closed.
    2. Locate your Luminar Catalog folder. The default location is C:\Users\%username%\Pictures\. If you specified a custom location for your catalog, search your custom location.
    3. Rename the Luminar Catalog folder. Choose any name you like.

    Best regards,

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Walter Born

    New version, downloaded today. Installation hangs at 54% and says no internet connection. Restart, then it installs. Startup slow, but faster than last time. Seems to build a catalog. Nothing shows up afterwards. New (slow) start,seems to work, adding a folder with 125000 pictures on NAS. Takes a while, not very long. So far it seems the main reason for all the trouble had been removed. Now I can work and check the functions.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    David Martin

    Luminar 3 is unuseable in it's present state. Spinning balls every time it starts up and takes forever each time. I have removed it completely and re-installed 3.0.2

    I shall be removing it completely now and look forward to trying again when it truly comes out of Beta ....

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    David Martin

    Processor Name: Intel Core i5

      Processor Speed: 2.9 GHz

      Number of Processors: 1

      Total Number of Cores: 4

      L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB

      L3 Cache: 6 MB

      Memory: 16 GB

    That may well be but I won't be buying a new machine to cope with Luminar 3 development. (I can pay a sub to Adobe for the next 20 years and get a first class package that works properly all the time)

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Stefan Andel

    I agree, Luminar could be quite good software, but there are some problems in its implementation. As I wrote in my first comment: "Why your developers do nothing with this problem?" ... What you wrote above, seems to be true.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Daniel DiBernardo

    Downloaded the latest update with no issues.  Took a long time to load the gallery with images, but all looked good at this point.

    Went into the program to try processing a few photos.  2 out of three times the program crashed, and in all cases the sliders seemed stuck and would not move smoothly or at all.  A few times clicking on space next to the slider made it jump to that spot, but overall, the program is still pitiful. 

    My PC is an HP with Intel Core I7-6700K, 4 GZ CPU, 24 Gigs of Ram, NVidia Geoforce GTX 745.

    I use On1 Raw, Photoshop Elements 14, Topaz Studio and other Topaz programs.Nik Software, PhotoMatix 6.0 and Aurora with zero issues.  Was hoping Luminar would work as advertised, unfortunately, this is still useless software, and money wasted.  I would never recommend this product to anyone.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    David Martin

    The reply from Thomas Helzle above confirms my worst suspicions .... that the code is rubbish.

    Why on earth does it take equally long to start up even AFTER it has catalogued your photos?

    Why does it show 0% progress while the dreaded beach ball of death spins intermittently away?

    Expectations were raised that an alternative DAM to LR would be supplied by MUM3 and you were obviously running into problems meeting those expectations. As a result (I guess) the decision was taken to release software under pressure from the public when the software was nowhere near meeting those expectations.

    Sad because Luminar 2018 is solid and useful as a standalone or as a plugin from LR.

    I use all the above programs plus Capture One and a few others and have never had a problem with any of them despite my machine starting to getting a little long in the tooth.

    Instead of blaming the customer for not upgrading his machine every 6 months you would do yourself a favour realising that you have released a program long before it is vaguely competitive at any price.

    Good luck out there!

    Dave

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Kate Williams

    Hi Raw, Mark, 

    Please contact us at https://skylum.com/support if you'd like us to investigate your cases. We'll be happy to help. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Helga Rowles

    Hi Melvin, you can drag and drop a photo to the Luminar 3 icon (if the application is closed) to open it for Quick Edit. I'll make sure to pass on your vote for this functionality to our developers team.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anastasia Davis

    Hi Melvin! It wasn't the "No" answer. There is just no info on that yet. You will be able to test it on your own soon.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anna V

    Hi Meiko Meissner

    We will still release the updates for Luminar 3, fixing the issues. 

    Hope for your patience and understanding. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Tobias Braun

    But there was a Roadmap with new features announced and the library feature is not usable. How can you already work on something new before releasing what you promised. I bought the cat in the sack last year. Luminar 2018 or flex is OK, but Luminar 3 is not usable. Eg. the result of an image is not correctly saved. It looks then totals strange in the overview and it is just slow. Skipping the lob function is the only way possible to use Luminar 3. We all should get Luminar 3 working an not this alpha version you currently offer. Mylio for instance can handle a lot of pictures easily, but has in the end a pay wall for user with a lot of pictures an Raw editing... I really hoped Luminar 3 could be the fundament for my workflow.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Martin Zwigl

    Similar problem here.
    Trying to "add folder" (it is a OneDrive folder, but all files ARE on the disk)
    most sub-folders stop after 61-62 images. 
    does not matter if I add the sub-folders each separately

    seems to work (at least when testing)  when I IMPORT folders and have them copied. - which is not an option for me

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Kirk Osborn

    Hi. Please contact us via https://skylum.com/support so we could investigate this issue further.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Elena O'Brien

    Hi Sandra,

    We've heard this request quite a lot, so maybe we'll do it in the future.

    However, it is unlikely to be implemented in Luminar 3 as it is our legacy app. Hope you understand!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Tobias Braun

    Hi Elena,

    what your wrote really hits the problem with the philosophy your company follows. You release a software with a lot of promises and never deliver them, additionally the software is full of bugs and terrible slow. And we as customer are asked to buy the new version to get it fixed? Sorry I do not use L3 any more since a long time now, I tested L4 and requested a refund, I also read an article about AI and how slow it is. Please first deliver what was promised and fix the issue your old software has before announcing new versions behind a paywall. I will not buy anything from your company any more. Other probaply will follow, but then it might be too late for this product.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Sandra Chung

    Yes, it does take quite a while building the image gallery, all depending on how many folders and photographs you have taken, but once that's done, I had no problems. This is on a dual boot Win 7/Win10 machine.  I pointed Luminar 3 to my photography HDD, and yes, it took a few hours for it to compile the image gallery.  I have another photo editing program that had to do the same thing.

     

    Unusable? Hardly.  Takes a bit of time to learn the new lay out, but it's quite usable. I'd show results, but I installed L3 on Win10 first, and it's currently building the image gallery on my Win7.

    -1
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.